Was this page helpful?


(Excerpt from Executive Order 13872, which establishes the Commission and the Initiative)

There is established the White House Initiative on Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders (Initiative), a Federal interagency working group whose members shall be selected by their respective agencies.  The Secretaries of Commerce and Transportation shall serve as the Co-Chairs of the Initiative and shall convene regular meetings of the Initiative, determine its agenda, and direct its work pursuant to the guidance and direction of the President.  The Executive Director established in section 2(c) of this order shall serve in the same role for the Initiative and shall report to the Co Chairs, or their designees, on Initiative matters.

(Mission and Function of the Initiative) The Initiative shall work to broaden AAPI access to economic resources and opportunities and thus empower AAPIs to improve the quality of their lives, raise the standard of living of their families and communities, and more fully participate in our economy.  The Initiative shall advise the Co-Chairs on the implementation and coordination of Federal programs as they relate to AAPI access to economic resources and opportunities.

(Membership of the Initiative) In addition to the Co-Chairs, the Initiative shall consist of senior officials from the following executive branch departments, agencies, and offices:

  1. the Department of State;
  2. the Department of the Treasury;
  3. the Department of Defense;
  4. the Department of Justice;
  5. the Department of the Interior;
  6. the Department of Agriculture;

(vii)    the Department of Labor;

(viii)   the Department of Health and Human Services;

(ix)     the Department of Housing and Urban Development;

(x)      the Department of Energy;

(xi)     the Department of Education;

(xii)    the Department of Veterans Affairs;

(xiii)   the Department of Homeland Security;

(xiv)    the Office of Management and Budget;

(xv)     the Environmental Protection Agency;

(xvi)    the Small Business Administration;

(xvii)   the Office of Personnel Management;

(xviii)  the Social Security Administration;

(xix)    the White House Office of Cabinet Affairs;

(xx)     the White House Office of Intergovernmental Affairs;

(xxi)    the White House Office of Public Liaison;

(xxii)   the National Economic Council;

(xxiii)  the Domestic Policy Council;

(xxiv)   the Office of Science and Technology Policy;

(xxv)    the Office of the U.S. Intellectual Property Enforcement Coordinator; and

(xxvi)   other executive branch departments, agencies, and offices as the President may, from time to time, designate.

The heads of each of the foregoing executive branch departments, agencies, and offices shall designate the senior Federal officials who will serve as their respective representatives on the Initiative.  At the direction of the Co-Chairs, the Initiative may establish subgroups consisting exclusively of Initiative members or their designees under this section, as appropriate.  To the extent permitted by law, members of the Initiative, or their designees, shall devote the time, skill, and resources necessary and adequate to carry out the functions of the Initiative.  Each executive department, agency, and office shall bear its own expenses for participating in the Initiative.

(Administration of the Initiative) The Department of Commerce shall provide funding and administrative support for the Initiative to the extent permitted by law and within existing appropriations, and shall, as necessary and appropriate under section 1535 of title 31, United States Code, enter into one or more agreements to obtain goods or services from the Department of Transportation in support of the Initiative.