Was this page helpful?

Program Booklet Citation

Provide a program booklet citation for each Gold and Silver Medal nomination in the following order and format (12 pt. New Times Roman):

Honor Awards Program

Program Booklet Citations

Complete Bureau Name – Bold, Upper Case Letters

Medal Type – Bold, Italics – Gold Medals are listed first in sequence below, followed by Silver Medals

Category – Bold, Upper Case Letters

Nominee Name – Bold

Bureau First Subdivision – Italics

Bureau Name – Italics

Program Booklet Citation – See formatting requirements on Honor Awards nomination form


[Insert Year] Honor Awards Program




Glenn Forney

Anthony Hamins

Randall McDermott

Kevin McGrattan 

Richard Peacock

Craig Weinschenk

Engineering Laboratory 

Blaza Toman

Information Technology Laboratory

National Institute of Standards and Technology

The group is recognized for developing the Fire Dynamics Simulator fire modeling software, an outstanding technical achievement in the practical application of fire science to create an innovative engineering tool for cost-effective fire-safe design of structures. FDS bridges the gap between basic research and practical application, while maintaining the highest standards of scientific rigor. FDS has had a significant impact on improving fire safety and reducing annual fire losses. Fire Dynamics Simulator has revolutionized how performance-based fire safety design is implemented in the U.S.

Physical Measurement Laboratory

Information Technology Laboratory

National Institute of Standards and Technology

The organization is recognized for exceptional scientific achievement culminating in a loophole-free test of Bell’s theorem using entangled photon pairs. The test proves quantum theory complete with a maximum chance of an alternate theory accounting for the results at about 1 in 170 million; thereby yielding clear evidence against the 1935 paper of Einstein, Podolosky, and Rosen. NIST’s achievement is the first experiment to close three major “loopholes” that plagued earlier tests through the use of NIST developed single-photon detectors, single-photon sources, and random number generators.



Robert Keller

Material Measurement Laboratory

National Institute of Standards and Technology

Dr. Keller is honored for inventing transmission electron backscatter diffraction. This microscopy technique provides a 10-fold improvement of measurement of the atomic structure of crystalline materials compared to traditional means, and thus is a revolutionary new tool for the development of vital materials for advanced electronics, nanotechnologies and innovative structural alloys. Because of its power, this technique has been eagerly adopted for distribution by instrument manufacturers worldwide and has already been deployed by semiconductor firms, government labs, and universities.



Andrew Allen

Lyle Levine 

Material Measurement Laboratory

National Institute of Standards and Technology

The group is honored for establishing innovative new instrumentation and software to measure microstructure and dynamics in materials over many length scales and under real-world conditions. Their achievement, illustrated through key application studies, provides a new window into materials’ behavior that fosters their deployment into energy, building and other technologies. The tools incorporated into a facility that leverages the powerful x-rays at Argonne National Laboratory, are now a sought after resource for industrial, government, and academic scientists nationwide.